News‎ > ‎


posted Sep 8, 2017, 11:49 AM by Henry Duwe

Prairie du Sac, WI – Sauk Prairie Trap & Skeet

July 23, 2017

By Lee Thomas

At his first World Shoot at Savannah in 1990, he was Runner-Up in the .410 Bore event.  That same year, he and Jim Dawson won the .410 Bore 2-man world title with a 199 X 200.  In 1992 at Savannah, Mark Reichow outlasted twenty-six competitors with perfect scores in the doubles event.  When the smoke cleared, he was the last shooter standing to become the World Doubles Champion.  Let’s fast forward twenty-five years to the 2017 Bald Eagle.  Reichow didn’t post a perfect a score in doubles, but he did post perfect scores in the 12, 28 and 20-gauge events. 

Randy Riehle -- Black Hawk Restaurant & Gym Bar and Grill 12ga Champion

Saturday morning, shooters took to the skeet fields of Sauk Prairie Trap & Skeet for the Black Hawk & Gym Bar and Grill 12-Gauge Championships. They were equipped with over and under and auto loading shotguns chambered with 12-gauge, 20-gauge and some with 28-gauge shot shells with the intent of “getting them all.”  Before station one everyone had perfect scores.  But by the end of the fourth box only two shooters managed to break all 8 at low 8 for a perfect score.  It was Mark Reichow and Randy Riehle.  Riehle bested Reichow in a shoot-off to secure the championship.  Reichow took AA1.   Paul Friesen’s 97 earned him AA2.  Jim Decker’s 99 took A1, Henry Duwe’s 97 got A2 and David Ruokolainen’s 95 took A3.  Jeff Varney and Jeff Renk shot-off a pair of 97’s in class B.  Varney won the shoot-off and B2 went to Renk.  Craig Storm’s 96 won B3.  Greg Schweppe (98) took C1, David Savolainen (96) was C2 and Dylan Ruokolainen (95) took C3.  Ross Petty (92) was D1, Brett Mittelstaedt (91) was D2, and Lee Thomas (91) took D3. Ken Schmirler (90) was E1.

Mark Reichow -- Wilderness Fish and Game 20ga Champion

The Wilderness Fish and Game 20-Gauge Championships saw three perfect scores; Mark Reichow, Jim Decker and Paul Friesen. During the shoot-offs, Reichow outlasted Decker and Friesen, and Decker outlasted Friesen. Reichow took CH, Decker AA1 and Friesen AA2.  Gary Wehlage’s 99 took A1, Jeff Varney took A2 with 98.  David Savolainen, Greg Schweppe and Randy Riehle shot-off a trio of 97’s to decide A3. Savolainen won the shoot-off to take A3.  David Ruokolainen posted a 99 to earn him B1 with B2 going to Doug Stebbins who posted a 96 and Jeff Renk’s 95 took B3.  In Class C, Don Ruokolainen took C1 with a 94, Ross Petty (93) was C2, and Ken Schmirler (93) was C3.

James ''Jimmy" Decker -- Ballweg Chevrolet Doubles Champion

There were no perfect scores in the Ballweg Chevrolet Doubles Championships.  But Jim Decker did post a 99 that earned him the championship.  Mark Reichow turned in a 95 to secure AA1.  Paul Friesen’s 93 earned him A1.  Henry Duwe was A2 (92) and Gary Wipperfurth (90) was A3.  In class B, David Savolainen won B1 with a 96, Don Kelly’s 94 took B2 and Jeff Varney won B3 with 93. In class C, Randy Riehle (91) took C1, C2 went to Craig Storm (87) and C3 to Jeff Renk (86).  Lee Thomas won D1 with 85. 

After Saturday afternoon shoot-offs, shooters and their families along with workers and invited guests retreated to the clubhouse for hors d’oeuvres and adult beverages.  Thanks to Wyttenbach’s Meats and Milio’s Sandwiches, everyone had something tasty to hold in their hand to munch on while checking out all the great silent auction items.  By now the club house was filled with the smell of wood smoked ribs, brisket, chicken and baked beans.  It was time to eat, thanks to PA ‘PA’s BBQ.  The BBQ had a supporting cast of potato salad, sweet corn on the cobb and cornbread muffins.  It was good smelling, good tasting meal. After we had eaten all that we could, the silent auction got under way.  Thank you to our merchant partners: Blue Spoon Restaurant, Cabala’s, Culver’s, the Shoe Box, MEC, Kolar Arms, Vortex, Woodshed Ale House.  Another successful auction was in the books.

Sunday morning shooters had overcast skies and high humidity.  By the afternoon, shooters had mostly cloudy and scattered clouds with temperatures around 82 and humid. Great sweating weather for some competitors and great shooting weather for others. Mark Reichow posted the only perfect score to become the uncontested White Flyer 28-gauge champion.  Meanwhile, Paul Friesen, Gary Wipperfurth, and Doug Stebbins shot-off 99’s.  When the smoke cleared, Friesen was the last one standing to take AA1, Wipperfurth was AA2 and Stebbins took AA3.  David Savolainen’s 98 took A1, Jeff Varney was A2 with a 97, and Matt Riffe was A3 with a 96.  In Class B Randy Riehle (99) was B1. Jeff Renk and Gregg Schweppe shot off a pair of 97 with Renk taking B2 and Schweppe taking B3.  In Class C, Gary Wehlage’s 93 was enough to win C1 with Ross Petty (92) took C2, and Bob St Clair (91) was C3.  Lee Thomas won Class D with a 95.

No matter what scores are posted in the other main events, it seems to always come down to this: The Renk Seed .410 Bore event.  The .410 Bore has been called many things - some of which are not-so-nice. Historically it has been called the “equalizer.”  Some of the veteran (well older then) shooters will tell you that is why the .410 is last event.  But most shooters don’t talk about “when” it’s shot, they talk about “how” to shoot it; “aggressively.”  Not to matter, there were no perfect scores.  But Henry Duwe (a young shooter who didn’t get the above memo) posted a 99 to secure the uncontested top spot. Mark Reichow turned in a 97 that earned him AA1.  Paul Friesen and Dylan Ruokolainen shot-off a pair of 97’s in Class A to decide A1. Ruokolainen survived to take A1 and Friesen secured A2.  A trio of 95’s by Gary Wipperfurth, Matt Riffe and Jim Decker were left to determine A3.  Wipperfurth endured for A3.  Len Smith’s 94 was one target better than Randy Riehle to capture B1.  Riehle was B2 and Bob St Clair was B3.  Lee Thomas posted an 89 that won C1. Brett Mittelstaedt (84) was C2 and Ken Schmirler (84) was C3. 

Henry Duwe -- Renk Seed .410 Bore Champion

Mark Reichow’s four-gun total of 397 was four targets better than Paul Friesen to earn him the A.S.P. Financial HOA Champion.  Paul Friesen (393) took AA1 and Henry Duwe (390) was AA2.  Gary Wipperfurth (385) was A1, Jeff Varney (382) was A2 and David Ruokolainen (381) was A3. In Class B, Randy Riehle (389) was B1, David Savolainen (380) was B2, and Greg Schweppe (379) was B3. Lee Thomas (367) was C1, Ken Goldsworthy (360) was C2 and Don Ruokolainen (359) was C3.

Mark Reichow also captured the Leystra’s Restaurant HAA five-gun event by posting a 492. Paul Friesen put up a 486 to seal the deal in Class A. Henry Duwe shot a 482 to take A2 while A3 went to Gary Wipperfurth who posted a 475.  In Class B Randy Riehle’s 480 earned him B1.  David Savolainen took B2 by shooting a 476 and B3 went to Jeff Varney with 475. Don Ruokolainen took the top spot in Class C with 441.  Ken Goldsworthy earned C2 with 430 and C3 went to Tim Asp who posted a 351.  Lee Thomas posted a 452 to take D1.

The Bald Eagle Skeet Committee (Lee Thomas, Paul Friesen, Henry Duwe, & Gary Wipperfurth) want to give a shout out to all the volunteers and paid personnel who made the shoot a success, including Doug, Tim and Bob for cleaning the houses, loading targets and filling the machines, Elise for taking care of all the administrative office details, and Chelsea for running the clubhouse.  We especially thank the main event sponsors of the Bald Eagle Skeet Shoot: Black Hawk Restaurant, The Gym Bar and Grill, Wilderness Fish and Game, Ballweg Chevrolet, White Flyer, Renk Seed, A.S.P. Financial, and Leystra’s Restaurant for their contribution of added money ($1400 in total).  Our partners are awesome.

It was awesome weekend to shoot skeet with some awesome people from Green Bay, Upper Michigan, Michigan and North Bristol.